May Day Open 2010

May Day Open Add comments

This marks the first time for the May Day Open tournament. Another first is the 3 round format. There were a total of 13 players; 7 in the first round and 6 in the second. The top 4 in each round advanced to the championship round.

Shaun McGuire won his 6th Saturn Bomberman tournament (5 Thanksgiving Day Invitationals and 1 May Day Open). Brian McGuire was this year’s Mad Bomber. He was also the first Mad Bomber award winner in the Thanksgiving Day Invitational. This year’s tournament took place on May 1st, 2010.

Interesting tournament facts: 3 countries were represented from 3 continents: United States, Germany and Brazil. André Schwarz had 21 kills in the first round. That was the most by anyone in any of the 3 rounds, yet he had no wins. Tara Pilliard made it into the top 4 with 2 wins in round 1, yet she had no kills. Celia McGraw had a 42% (the best of any round) winning percentage in round 2 yet had no wins in the championship round.

First round participants: Shaun McGuire (Kotetsu), Jeff McGraw (White Bomber), Nathan McGraw (Manjimaru), Tara Pilliard (Kinu), André Schwarz (Kabuki), Gabriel Boyd (Master Higgins) and Christian McGraw (Black Bomber).

Final result:

Second round participants: Celia McGraw (Kinu), Cyril Pimentel (Black Bomber), Rob Pilliard (Bonks), Joyce Guedes (Master Higgins), Brian McGuire (Kabuki) and Lou Pilliard (Kotetsu).

Final result:

Championship round participants: Shaun McGuire (Master Higgins), Jeff McGraw (White Bomber), Nathan McGraw (Manjimaru), Tara Pilliard (Kabuki), Cyril Pimentel (Black Bomber), Celia McGraw (Kinu), Rob Pilliard (Miss Honey) and Brian McGuire (Bonks).

Final result:

Complete video of the championship round:

Leave a Reply

WP Theme & Icons by N.Design Studio
Entries RSS Comments RSS Log in